Short Story Recommendation – Oh Whistle, and I’ll Come to You, My Lad

For the first of my short story recommendations I thought I’d start with one of my earliest favourites. Oh Whistle, and I’ll Come to You, My Lad by M.R James. I picked this one because I remember it being one of the first ghost stories that really gave me the creeps.

A quiet seaside holiday for a slightly uptight academic, Professor Parkins, takes a sinister turn in classic James style. The professor is on holiday alone but the only room the inn can offer him has two beds. This doesn’t seem like a very big problem until the question arises: If the professor has only slept in the one bed then who or what has been disturbing the sheets in the other?

A slow creeping story with some great imagery from the master of the ghost story genre. I recommend reading this one on a windy night.

The link below is to the Collector’s Library edition of M.R James’s complete ghost stories. They are beautiful little hardback books with their own ribbon markers. This is the edition I own.

 

Leave a Reply

